Battle Royale (2000)

Directed By: Kinji Fukasaku

Written By: Kenta Fukasaku (screenplay) and Koushun Takami (novel)

Starring: Tatsuya Fujiwara, Aki Maeda and Tarô Yamamoto

Synopsis:

If teenagers disrespect their teachers, their teachers will go medieval on their asses.

Musings:

It’s appropriate that I’m reviewing this film in the wake of The Hunger Games. I’m not going into a long diatribe on the many similarities between the two films. I just wanted to say that I’m all for borrowing ideas and putting a personal spin on them but in this case, Suzanne Collins outright stole ideas from this novel without any mention of Battle Royale. If hip-hop artists have to pay royalties for sampling music, I think Suzanne Collins should share a few of her billions with Koushun Takami, the author of Battle Royale or as I prefer its original name Batoru Rowaiaru.

This film isn’t as great as other people make it out to be. It stinks of a low budget and special FX are comical. The acting is pretty weak save for; Takeshi Kitano, who made for a terrifying teacher, Chiaki Kuriyama, the mace wielding henchwoman from Kill Bill Vol. 1 and Tarô Yamamoto, who reminded me of a skinny Rambo.

This film will forever be overshadowed by its successor, which has taken its crown by coup d’etat. I still think Battle Royale is worth a watch for the sheer terror it evokes.

Problem: The ethics of the situation are glossed over

Mood for watching: Sadistic

What to eat and drink: Edo Japan and Sake

If I made it: I would need a translator to help me with the Japanese actors and crew

Why watch: The death count

One thought on “Battle Royale (2000)

Leave a Reply

